Spark Plugs

It seems like a lifetime ago that I posted about my plans for FUN, I’m going to call the guy Spark Plugs, I’ll get to the reason why later.

To recap… Spark Plugs lives about an hour away. His schedule is as crazy as mine, as he works for a family owned retail store. We had been talking for about a month and a half, when I decided that Friday I would finally make the trip up to meet him, with full intentions of sleeping with him (despite having an incredible amount of school work). 

I sent my best friend a picture of him, with his name, number, the name of his family business, and his address just in case, but followed it with, “I’ve stalked him a lot, I should be fine.”

Within a couple minutes of arriving he kissed me, to, “get it out of the way.” It was pretty good. 

He took me to dinner and a nearby brewery for a drink.

Then we headed back to his place. I’ll spare you the details and just say we had fun multiple times. He had to work in the morning, which was good, there was no extended goodbye, although he did stay in bed longer than intended.

At some point in the night, I looked at him and said, “You’re f***ing weird!” He did something to spark this response, but it escapes my memory right now. He replied, “So are you!” I laughed, because, hell, it’s true!

He grew up much like me- private school, his dad started successful business, never went without necessities, etc. But we’re a lot different, too. He lacks empathy and thinks people who aren’t educated, with good jobs, like himself (and hopefully me within a year!) simply need to work harder.

I realize it’s not that simple, but agreed to disagree. He’s not a spiteful person, just can’t put himself in others’ shoes (something I do way too often).

After I left I had a busy weekend, followed by an even busier week… I think I wrote about 25 pages that week. 14 of them were “Book Reviews,” so a lot of reading, too.

Before, during, and after, I stuck to the “I’m just having fun,” motto. Many of our conversations revolved around sex, but DAMN! I started to feel feelings.

He went on vacation and told me before that he didn’t intend to have sex with anyone and after that he didn’t have sex with anyone. None of my business, but yes, I initiated both conversations.

I went back up about a week after Spark Plugs returned. He bought me beautiful jewelry on vacation. I’m not a materialistic person, but it meant he thought of me on vacation.  More feelings.

The next morning someone came to take his car to be serviced. During a phone call, the car mechanic said, “The big expense here is you need new spark plugs.” After hanging up, he turns to me and said, “He said my car needed new spark plugs. Was he kidding about that? Do cars have spark plugs?”

Wow! Just WOW! Hence, the nickname Spark Plugs. I informed him that yes, cars have spark plugs.

Before I left the next morning, we made plans for me to stay the night this coming Friday. It’s a holiday weekend and his house is on the way to my destination. A friend would meet me at his house and continue the journey.

That was a Tuesday. We texted throughout Tuesday and Wednesday. His last text Wednesday was “Night sexy.”

Since then, it feels like pulling teeth to get him to talk to me.

I threw myself a pity party Monday. Complete with tears and over analyzation of the situation. In the midst, I recieved a simple, “How is your day going?” text from another guy I’ve been dating (another post about him later!).

It hit me like a ton of bricks. Holy s***. I couldn’t remember the last time Spark Plugs initiated a conversation by asking about my day. Sure, he asked in response to my question, but never just a random “How are you?” text (which I get daily from other guy). Maybe Spark Plugs had been a jerk all along and I failed to realize. 

Spark Plugs’s reasoning for being so short with me doesn’t matter. In lieu of my friend meeting me at his place Friday, I devised a (sarcastic) plan to stop along the way to my holiday destination, egg his house, break the jewelry he gave me, and scatter it around his lawn, in hopes to mess up his lawn mower. 

I decided it would add at least an hour to our trip/take away valuable time on a boat. Also, my friend didn’t want to have to bail me out of jail on a holiday weekend.

I contemplated dropping off the jewelry to his place, or throwing it away. But decided to hold onto it. It’s beautiful and in a couple weeks bitter feelings won’t arise when I look at it.

So, how did Spark Plugs impact my life?

I went through a sexual dry spell. It started for good reason, which maybe I’ll write about sometime, but continued longer because of self-conscious reasons. I continually desired sex, but too nervous. He helped me break out of that shell. I’m not so nervous anymore. He made me feel sexy, even with my awkward tendencies. 

It started out as fun and I don’t know what I would change if I had to do it over. I guess nothing. I’m a little bitter and sad still. I know it’s nothing I can’t handle; it’s also natural for me after having sex with someone. 

As with everyone else, I hope he does find happiness, whatever it may be 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Spark Plugs”

  1. such a great post and you are more beautiful in my eyes that a thousand sunshine days. embracing your sexuality is tough, and wanting the cuddles more than the sex itself proves to be asking too much from some people. do we crave intimacy more than basic physicality? you write on subjects i blush to read but your honesty shows me that even a brief physical relationship will fill that void in us. always straight from your heart and touching mine.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I blush, too! And I definitely crave the cuddling part of it more than he does… One of many reasons we wouldn’t work out long term. He helped me be more open and ask for what I wanted, so it wasn’t all bad! I got some kick ass jewelry out of it too! Hope to post about new man soon. Take care ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment